What good is there in collecting something and not share it with others with the same interest as yours?

The objective of this blog is to share songs not commercially available anymore, for music is the language of the soul and it must not be forgotten.

Sunday, May 27, 2012


Zimbo Trio (1968)

Zimbo Trio
OBS.: Just a few minutes ago, I've received a comment from Andreas of Braziliance pointing out a missing information about this record, that I really ignored completely: This album, released by Premier (PRLP-1022) in 1968 is in fact a reissue from the RGE (XRLP-5253) originally recorded and released in 1964.

01. Zimbo Samba (Adylson Godoy) • 2:01
02. Menina Flor (Luiz Bonfá/Maria Helena Toledo) • 2:28
03. Garota De Ipanema (Vinícius de Moraes/Tom Jobim) • 4:31
04. Inútil Paisagem (Tom Jobim/Aloysio de Oliveira) • 2:30
05. Barquinho Diferente (Sérgio Augusto) • 2:16
06. Berimbau (Vinícius de Moraes/Baden Powell) • 3:06
07. Consolação (Vinícius de Moraes/Baden Powell) • 2:53
08. Diz Que Fui Por Aí (Zé Zeti/H. Rocha) • 2:07
09. Sou Sem Paz (Adylson Godoy) • 4:02
10. Vivo Sonhando (Adylson Godoy) • 2:01
11. Só Por Amor (Vinícius de Moraes/Baden Powell) • 2:42
12. O Norte (Luiz Chaves) • 3:46


  1. One of the marvellous albums by Zimbo Trio. To set the records straight, this is the cover of the 1968 reissue, released as Premier PRLP 1022. The album was originally recorded and released in 1964 as RGE XRLP 5253. Funnily enough, this later art work is less modern than the first one.

  2. Thanks a lot for the information!
    I really didn't know that. I should have done my homework throughly.
    One more reason for me to speed-up and buy your book.

  3. Que maravilha de postagem! O Zimbo Trio é pra mim um dos melhores trios instrumentais brasileiros! E, neste disco, cada uma das músicas é uma obra-prima em particular. Parabéns pelo Blog e pelo trabalho!


  4. Obrigado!
    Também concordo que este disco do Zimbo Trio foi realmente muito bem feito, tanto na escolha do repertório como na execução das músicas.

  5. A guy just posted this LP (extended, with 14 tracks) on flac mode, in an international Jazz blog:
    And I thank to the poster!